Nobel Peace Prize winners.  From left to right: President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf of Liberia (AP Photo); Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee (AP); Yemeni Tawakul Karman who head the organisation Women Journalists Without Chains (AP). 

They were awarded the prize for “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.” Johnson-Sirleaf is Liberia’s first elected female president and has acted as a reformer in her time in office. Gbowee organized a group of Christian and Muslim women to stand up to Liberian warlords. Karman is a Yemeni journalist who is both a women’s rights activist and a leading protest organiser in Yemen’s Arab Spring uprisings.

Read the AP Story.

1,452 notes


  1. agirlinprogress reblogged this from i-a-t-g
  2. i-a-t-g reblogged this from measuringcups
  3. teabagsoup reblogged this from diasporicroots
  4. tishbenson reblogged this from fuckyeahethnicwomen
  5. sulfatetocopper reblogged this from matriarchal
  6. myheartisinafrica reblogged this from takoradi and added:
  7. drowningdinosaur reblogged this from fuckyeahfeminists
  8. bisarahtots reblogged this from miracleswillcomeintimewithluck
  9. thepoliticalnotebook posted this

Blog comments powered by Disqus

']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(ga); })(); // ]]>